The Four Noble Truths of Love Book Summary - The Four Noble Truths of Love Book explained in key points
Listen to the Intro

The Four Noble Truths of Love summary

Susan Piver

Buddhist Wisdom for Modern Relationships

4.6 (436 ratings)
23 mins

What is The Four Noble Truths of Love about?

The Four Noble Truths of Love (2018) brings ancient Buddhist wisdom out of the monastery and into the bedroom. By adapting the timeless insights taught by the Buddha 2,500 years ago to the nature of love, it shines a light through the murky mess of modern romance.

Table of Contents

    The Four Noble Truths of Love
    summarized in 6 key ideas

    Audio & text in the Blinkist app
    Key idea 1 of 6

    The Four Noble Truths are the foundation of Buddhist philosophy.

    The Four Noble Truths were taught by the Buddha more than 2,500 years ago. They were his first teachings after achieving enlightenment, and they form the basis of the Buddhist philosophy.

    Siddhartha Gautama – the Buddha’s given name – was born a prince. His upbringing was so sheltered that he didn’t lay eyes on people who were elderly, sick, or dying until he was a grown man.

    Dismayed by these revelatory experiences, he renounced his life of luxury in the hope of finding the meaning of existence and an end to suffering. After several years of fasting, begging, and other forms of chastity, Gautama finally resolved to sit beneath a Bodhi tree until the truth revealed itself to him. It’s said he sat beneath that tree for 49 days before achieving enlightenment, at which point he returned to share what he’d learned – the four truths about existence.

    The key message here is: The Four Noble Truths are the foundation of Buddhist philosophy.

    The First Noble Truth is: Life is suffering. That’s not to say that everything’s bad. Suffering here refers to a base-level discomfort that we can’t ever quite get rid of. This discomfort stems from the fact that everything in life is transient. We try to hold onto things – good looks, possessions, relationships – but everything ultimately passes through our fingers. As a result, we suffer a great deal of anxiety about what awaits us in the future, and we sorrow for what we’ve left behind in the past.

    However, it’s not transience per se that causes suffering. This is where the Second Noble Truth comes in: The cause of suffering is attachment. In other words, we suffer because we can’t bear to let go of the things we’ve become attached to.

    Now that we know the cause of suffering, we arrive at the Third Noble Truth: It’s possible to end suffering. In order to do that, we have to accept reality for what it is. Knowing that everything in life comes and goes, we must – as far as possible – relinquish our attachments to things.

    But how exactly do we achieve this? Well, the Fourth Noble Truth says that there is a path for transcending suffering. This path is known in Buddhism as the Noble Eightfold Path. It offers the various components of the Buddhist’s moral life; if followed conscientiously, these will lead to enlightenment.

    So, that’s it – the Four Noble Truths of Buddhism. These are the basis for the Noble Truths of Love, which, as we’ll see, follow this same structure.

    Want to see all full key ideas from The Four Noble Truths of Love?

    Key ideas in The Four Noble Truths of Love

    More knowledge in less time
    Read or listen
    Read or listen
    Get the key ideas from nonfiction bestsellers in minutes, not hours.
    Find your next read
    Find your next read
    Get book lists curated by experts and personalized recommendations.
    Shortcasts New
    We’ve teamed up with podcast creators to bring you key insights from podcasts.

    Best quote from The Four Noble Truths of Love

    The bad news is, youre falling through the air without a parachute. The good news is, theres no ground.

    —Susan Piver
    example alt text

    About the Author

    Susan Piver is a long-time Buddhist practitioner and author known for translating ancient Buddhist ideas for a modern audience. She’s written nine books including the award-winning How Not to Be Afraid of Your Own Life, The Wisdom of a Broken Heart, and Start Here Now: An Open-Hearted Guide to the Path and Practice of Meditation. Piver launched the Open Heart Project in 2011, which has since become the world’s largest online mindfulness community.

    Who should read The Four Noble Truths of Love?

    • Long-term couples who want to rejuvenate their love life
    • Singles who want to improve their dating experiences
    • Anyone who wants to experience a deeper, more mature love

    Categories with The Four Noble Truths of Love

    Books like The Four Noble Truths of Love

    People ❤️ Blinkist
    Sven O.

    It's highly addictive to get core insights on personally relevant topics without repetition or triviality. Added to that the apps ability to suggest kindred interests opens up a foundation of knowledge.

    Thi Viet Quynh N.

    Great app. Good selection of book summaries you can read or listen to while commuting. Instead of scrolling through your social media news feed, this is a much better way to spend your spare time in my opinion.

    Jonathan A.

    Life changing. The concept of being able to grasp a book's main point in such a short time truly opens multiple opportunities to grow every area of your life at a faster rate.

    Renee D.

    Great app. Addicting. Perfect for wait times, morning coffee, evening before bed. Extremely well written, thorough, easy to use.

    People also liked

    Start growing with Blinkist now
    26 Million
    Downloads on all platforms
    4.7 Stars
    Average ratings on iOS and Google Play
    Of Blinkist members create a better reading habit*
    *Based on survey data from Blinkist customers
    Powerful ideas from top nonfiction

    Try Blinkist to get the key ideas from 5,500+ bestselling nonfiction titles and podcasts. Listen or read in just 15 minutes.

    Start your free trial