The best 18 Lifestyle & Pop Culture books

How do we create content on this page?
1
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner

Crying in H Mart

Michelle Zauner
A Memoir
4.2 (117 ratings)

What's Crying in H Mart about?

Michelle Zauner’s memoir, Crying in H Mart (2021), explores Zauner’s search for identity, her relationship with her Korean mother, and her beginnings as a musician. Key moments and emotions are constantly linked with food, which lies at the heart of Zauner’s connection with her mother, her heritage, and her true self.

Who should read Crying in H Mart?

  • Anyone who has experienced grief
  • Fans of Japanese Breakfast
  • Asian food aficionados

2
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Cinema Speculation by Quentin Tarantino

Cinema Speculation

Quentin Tarantino
4.1 (129 ratings)

What's Cinema Speculation about?

Cinema Speculation (2022) is part personal history, part movie criticism, and part film reporting. It takes a look at several key 1970s movies from director Quentin Tarantino’s perspective. While he discusses each movie, he sometimes also indulges in a few what-ifs.

Who should read Cinema Speculation?

  • Film buffs eager to get inside Quentin Tarantino’s mind
  • Dirty Harry, Taxi Driver, and Escape From Alcatraz aficionados
  • Fans of Don Siegel and Martin Scorsese

3
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Lady Sings the Blues by Billie Holiday with William Dufty

Lady Sings the Blues

Billie Holiday with William Dufty
The 50th-Anniversay Edition with a Revised Discography
4.3 (128 ratings)

What's Lady Sings the Blues about?

Lady Sings the Blues (1956) is Billie Holiday’s tell-all memoir. The legendary jazz singer recounts her life, from a brutal childhood in Baltimore to the start of her musical career in Harlem and – eventually – stardom tainted by racism and drug addiction. 

Who should read Lady Sings the Blues?

  • Music lovers
  • Anyone curious about Harlem speakeasies
  • Fans of fast-paced, hard-edged memoirs

4
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Surrender by Bono

Surrender

Bono
40 Songs, One Story
4.5 (36 ratings)

What's Surrender about?

Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story (2022) is a poetic tour through four decades of the life of Bono, lead singer of U2 –  one of the world’s biggest and longest-lasting bands. With each chapter headed by a song and illustrations throughout, the book is a memoir sprinkled with self-deprecating humor, wit, and poignancy.

Who should read Surrender?

  • Fans of U2
  • Music lovers who are interested in hearing about musical history
  • Anyone interested in pop culture

5
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Elizabeth Taylor by Kate Andersen Brower

Elizabeth Taylor

Kate Andersen Brower
The Grit and Glamour of an Icon
4.2 (166 ratings)

What's Elizabeth Taylor about?

Elizabeth Taylor (2022) is an enthralling authorized biography of one of Hollywood's most famous stars. This fascinating and complete portrait of the legend chronicles her life of fame, tragedy, love, and loss.

Who should read Elizabeth Taylor?

  • Elizabeth Taylor devotees
  • Classic Hollywood aficionados
  • Romance fans

6
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: The Beatles Anthology by The Beatles

The Beatles Anthology

The Beatles
4.5 (125 ratings)

What's The Beatles Anthology about?

The Beatles Anthology (2000) is the story of the Beatles, told in their own words. Through original and archive interviews, the band and those closest to them recount the tale of their spectacular and influential career.

Who should read The Beatles Anthology?

  • Beatles fans, old and new
  • Memoir lovers who enjoy the inside story
  • Cultural history enthusiasts interested in the 1960s

7
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain

Kitchen Confidential

Anthony Bourdain
Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
4.3 (137 ratings)

What's Kitchen Confidential about?

Kitchen Confidential (2000) gives us an insight into life in the restaurant business. Full of larger-than-life tales about Anthony Bourdain’s life of sex and drugs and haute cuisine, it gives us a no-holds-barred taste of what goes on behind the kitchen door.

Who should read Kitchen Confidential?

  • Fans of Anthony Bourdain
  • Wannabe pro chefs
  • Home cooks looking for hints and tips from a professional

8
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Killing the Legends by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard

Killing the Legends

Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard
The Lethal Danger of Celebrity
4.3 (27 ratings)

What's Killing the Legends about?

Killing the Legends (2022) takes a dramatic and insightful look at the lives and tragic deaths of three of the greatest names of the 20th century: Elvis Presely, John Lennon, and Muhammad Ali. These three celebrities all found early and overwhelming success, before losing control of their lives, being influenced and controlled by those close to them.

Who should read Killing the Legends?

  • Fans of Elvis, Lennon, or Ali, eager to learn a bit more about their heroes
  • Cultural history buffs interested in the big players of the 20th century
  • The morbidly curious looking for the tragic true stories behind the fame.

9
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Beyond the Wand by Tom Felton

Beyond the Wand

Tom Felton
The Magic and Mayhem of Growing Up a Wizard
4.3 (144 ratings)

What's Beyond the Wand about?

Beyond the Wand (2022) offers a backstage pass into the life of Tom Felton, an actor best known for his iconic role as Draco Malfoy in the Harry Potter films. As he recalls the magic of movie-making and struggles of growing up in the spotlight, Felton takes fans on a journey through his life and career so far and the valuable lessons he’s learned along the way.

Who should read Beyond the Wand?

  • Harry Potter fans
  • People who enjoy behind-the-scenes stories
  • Fans of celebrity autobiographies

10
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: All About Me! by Mel Brooks

All About Me!

Mel Brooks
My Remarkable Life in Show Business
4.2 (18 ratings)

What's All About Me! about?

All About Me! (2021) recounts the show business career of iconic comedian and filmmaker Mel Brooks. It’s infused with entertaining tales about his life behind the scenes, from his days as a young Broadway fan to his successful stint as an actor, director, and producer.

Who should read All About Me!?

  • Anyone who wants to know more about Mel Brook’s career in show business
  • Aspiring comedians and entertainers
  • Show business and comedy enthusiasts

11
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: The Office BFFs by Jenna Fischer & Angela Kinsey

The Office BFFs

Jenna Fischer & Angela Kinsey
Tales of the Office from Two Best Friends Who Were There
4.0 (6 ratings)

What's The Office BFFs about?

The Office BFFs (2022) peels back the curtain on the close-knit friendship of Angela Kinsey and Jenna Fischer from the American hit TV series The Office. It comes complete, not only with their candid time together on and off camera but also with never-before-seen photos featuring the cast and crew of the show.

Who should read The Office BFFs?

  • The Office fans
  • People curious about the behind-the-scenes friendship of Angela and Jenna
  • Celebrity enthusiasts

12
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Finding Me by Viola Davis

Finding Me

Viola Davis
A Memoir
4.6 (265 ratings)

What's Finding Me about?

Finding Me (2022) is the highly anticipated memoir from Oscar-, Tony-, and Emmy-award winning actress Viola Davis. Davis is unafraid to share the rawest, most intimate details of her life story, from the brutal hardship of her childhood on Rhode Island, through her tenacious years as a Broadway stage actor, to her arrival into the upper echelons of Hollywood celebrity. 

Who should read Finding Me?

  • Film fans who loved Davis in Doubt, Fences, The Help, and more
  • Theater aficionados interested in a backstage perspective on Broadway
  • Anyone who can’t resist an inspiring true story of success against all odds

13
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Live Wire by Kelly Ripa

Live Wire

Kelly Ripa
Long-Winded Short Stories
3.1 (101 ratings)

What's Live Wire about?

Live Wire (2022) is a compilation of humorous essays by actor and talk show host Kelly Ripa. She opens up about her 30 years in showbiz and shares the challenges and joys of getting ahead in a male-dominated industry while raising a family. 

Who should read Live Wire?

  • Fans of Kelly Ripa looking for the inside scoop
  • Memoir-lovers who want to learn about one of the power players in media
  • Women looking for inspiration on how to thrive in a male-dominated industry

14
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Faith, Hope and Carnage by Nick Cave, Seán O'Hagan

Faith, Hope and Carnage

Nick Cave, Seán O'Hagan
4.2 (135 ratings)

What's Faith, Hope and Carnage about?

Faith, Hope and Carnage (2022) collects a series of interviews between legendary musician Nick Cave, whose primal, goth-tinged music has captivated and challenged audiences for nearly half a century, and the journalist Sean O’Hagan. The pair touch on writer’s block, romance, addiction, and the internet – but always circle back to the topic of grief, specifically how Cave has dealt with the death of his 15-year-old son Arthur in 2015.

Who should read Faith, Hope and Carnage?

  • Die-hard Cave fans, who’ve been following along since The Birthday Party years
  • New Cave fans who’ve fallen in love with Ghosteen or the Red Hand Files
  • Anyone dealing with grief in any form

15
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Hobbit

J. R. R. Tolkien
4.6 (50 ratings)

What's The Hobbit about?

The Hobbit (1937) is the classic fantasy adventure story of an unsuspecting hobbit named Bilbo Baggins. Ripped unexpectedly from his idle epicurean life by the wizard Gandalf, Bilbo finds himself on a journey to help a group of dwarves take back their stolen treasure from the jealous dragon Smaug. Along the way, he encounters trolls, elves, goblins, and spiders –⁠ plus a certain magic ring –⁠ and eventually finds that he had what it took to be a hero all along.

Who should read The Hobbit?

  • Fantasy lovers
  • Fans of the Lord of the Rings or Hobbit movies
  • Adventure seekers

16
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man by Paul Newman

The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man

Paul Newman
A Memoir
4.4 (44 ratings)

What's The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man about?

The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man (2022) is a thoughtful memoir that finds the legendary actor Paul Newman looking back at his life with a critical, introspective eye. Newman isn’t afraid to be self-deprecating as he looks back on his career, as well as his shortcomings as a husband and father.

Who should read The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man?

  • Movie buffs
  • Fans of introspective memoirs
  • People interested in the life of an actor

17
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Love, Pamela by Pamela Anderson

Love, Pamela

Pamela Anderson
4.1 (18 ratings)

What's Love, Pamela about?

In her memoir, Love, Pamela (2023), superstar Pamela Anderson tells her own story behind decades of life in the headlines. Through poetry and insightful storytelling, she shares how her passion for exploring love has guided her journey.

Who should read Love, Pamela?

  • Fans of Pamela Anderson
  • People only aware of Pamela Anderson’s public persona and curious to learn more
  • Anyone interested to what it’s like to live as a global celebrity

18
Lifestyle & Pop Culture Books: Paris by Paris Hilton

Paris

Paris Hilton
The Memoir
3.2 (157 ratings)

What's Paris about?

Paris (2023) is the frank, entertaining memoir of the celebrity icon Paris Hilton. She shares the highs and lows of her life in the limelight, from epic parties to public humiliation.

Who should read Paris?

  • Paris fans (“Little Hiltons”)
  • People who enjoy candid memoirs
  • Anyone interested in the lifestyles of the rich and famous

Related Topics