American Psycho Buchzusammenfassung - das Wichtigste aus American Psycho
Einleitung anhören
00:00

Zusammenfassung von American Psycho

Bret Easton Ellis

A Violent Satire on Modern Capitalism and Corporate Greed

4.3 (39 Bewertungen)
19 Min.

Kurz zusammengefasst

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis is a graphic novel that follows the life of wealthy 26-year-old New Yorker, Patrick Bateman, who indulges in acts of excessive violence and sadism. The novel explores themes of consumerism, masculinity, and the emptiness of modern life.

Inhaltsübersicht

    American Psycho
    in 5 Kernaussagen verstehen

    Audio & Text in der Blinkist App
    Kernaussage 1 von 5

    The Cruel Cosmos of Wall Street Yuppies

    American Psycho begins with an allusion to another, much older work – Dante’s Inferno. In the Italian writer’s epic poem, the gates of Hell are inscribed with the phrase, “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here.” In the opening scene of American Psycho, this phrase appears as graffiti scrawled along the side of a bank.

    It’s a fair warning to us as we enter the world of young investment banker Patrick Bateman. Bateman is in his mid-twenties and works at a Wall Street company called Pierce & Pierce. He’s handsome, successful, and incredibly jaded. His life is an endless montage of working out, fancy dinners, and sexual flings.

    In the opening scene, Bateman is in a cab on the way to dinner at his girlfriend's house. Next to him, his colleague Tim Price is rambling about his great qualities while casually disparaging women, homeless and gay people, and their immigrant cab driver. 

    Bateman’s girlfriend, Evelyn, who also works in finance, has prepared expensive sushi for the evening. Bateman suspects that she’s having an affair with Tim. But he’s more bothered by the young, unkempt artist pair Evelyn has invited. The evening culminates with Bateman giving a standard conservative speech on how to fix America: strengthening the middle class, preventing welfare abuse, and – ironically – curbing graphic depictions of sex and violence on TV.

    In the next chapters, we learn more about Bateman’s day-to-day life. He lives in a chic apartment on the Upper West Side, where he likes to listen to music and watch movies. He has a disciplined workout schedule and a multiple-step skincare routine. 

    Almost every night, he hangs out with his finance friends. They go to a bar called Harry’s, expensive restaurants, and nightclubs. They drink, smoke cigars, and do coke. Their topics of conversation never change. They consult Bateman on questions of business fashion; make jokes about homeless, Jewish, gay, and Black people; and comment crudely on attractive women, whom they call “hardbodies.” 

    Bateman appears to be both fully invested in and deeply bored with his yuppie lifestyle. In one iconic dinner scene, he tries to impress his colleagues with his new bone-colored business card – only to find himself in deep distress at realizing his colleagues’ business cards are even classier.

    ANALYSIS

    The first chapters of the novel introduce us to the world of Patrick Bateman. It’s a world of Wall Street yuppies – ruled by money, consumption, and superficiality. 

    Bateman’s first-person narration gives us insight into his system of values. He’s as obsessed with material possessions as with his own appearance. His great American idol is Donald Trump. And he can conceive of others – women in particular – only as objects for his own entertainment. 

    But disturbingly, all these traits are all shared by the people around him. Bateman’s colleagues appear just as cruel as he is – routinely offering sexist, racist, and classist observations. One of them casually talks about “blowing someone’s head off.” 

    Author Bret Easton Ellis is setting the stage: The transition between verbal and physical violence will be seamless.

    Bateman also reveals himself to be an unreliable narrator. He frequently confuses his finance buddies for one another (and is in turn frequently mistaken by them). And we get first hints at his murderous inclinations through occasional offhand remarks. For instance, he mentions a serrated knife in his pocket, and masturbating to a movie scene in which a woman is murdered. 

    Du möchtest die gesamte Zusammenfassung von American Psycho sehen?

    Kernaussagen in American Psycho

    Mehr Wissen in weniger Zeit
    Sachbücher auf den Punkt gebracht
    Sachbücher auf den Punkt gebracht
    Kernaussagen aus Sachbüchern in ca. 15 Minuten pro Titel lesen & anhören mit den „Blinks”
    Zeitsparende Empfehlungen
    Zeitsparende Empfehlungen
    Titel, die dein Leben bereichern, passend zu deinen Interessen und Zielen
    Podcasts in Kurzform
    Podcasts in Kurzform Neu
    Kernaussagen wichtiger Podcasts im Kurzformat mit den neuen „Shortcasts”

    Worum geht es in American Psycho?

    American Psycho (1991) is a controversial cult novel that uses graphic violence to satirize modern capitalism and consumer culture. It follows the life of Patrick Bateman, a wealthy and handsome investment banker living in Manhattan in the 1980s. Beneath his polished exterior lies a psychopathic killer who preys on his victims without remorse. Bateman’s exploits quickly grow more and more extreme, and his mask of sanity starts to slip.

    Bewertung von American Psycho

    American Psycho (1991) by Bret Easton Ellis is a controversial and thought-provoking exploration of the duality of human nature and the dark side of American society. Here's why this book is worth reading:

    • The sharp critique of consumerism and materialism in 1980s America challenges readers to reflect on their own values and priorities.
    • Vivid and shocking descriptions of violence and depravity offer a stark portrayal of the protagonist's descent into madness, leaving a lasting impact on the reader.
    • The unreliable narrator creates a sense of ambiguity, forcing readers to question the truth and the nature of reality, keeping the narrative intriguing and far from boring.

    Wer American Psycho lesen sollte

    • Fans of the the 2000 movie starring Christian Bale
    • Readers who enjoy Don DeLillo, Thomas Pynchon, and William S. Burroughs
    • Anyone who enjoys dark humor

    Über den Autor

    Bret Easton Ellis is an American author and screenwriter known for provocative works of fiction like his nihilistic debut novel Less Than Zero (1985). He’s recognized for his dark, satirical writing style and potent critiques of contemporary culture and social mores. American Psycho is both his most famous and most controversial novel. In 2019, he published his first nonfiction book, White, taking on the failings of left liberalism.

    Kategorien mit American Psycho

    Ähnliche Zusammenfassungen wie American Psycho

    ❤️ für Blinkist️️️ 
    Ines S.

    Ich bin begeistert. Ich liebe Bücher aber durch zwei kleine Kinder komme ich einfach nicht zum Lesen. Und ja, viele Bücher haben viel bla bla und die Quintessenz ist eigentlich ein Bruchteil.

    Genau dafür ist Blinkist total genial! Es wird auf das Wesentliche reduziert, die Blinks sind gut verständlich, gut zusammengefasst und auch hörbar! Das ist super. 80 Euro für ein ganzes Jahr klingt viel, aber dafür unbegrenzt Zugriff auf 3000 Bücher. Und dieses Wissen und die Zeitersparnis ist unbezahlbar.

    Ekaterina S.

    Extrem empfehlenswert. Statt sinnlos im Facebook zu scrollen höre ich jetzt täglich zwischen 3-4 "Bücher". Bei manchen wird schnelle klar, dass der Kauf unnötig ist, da schon das wichtigste zusammen gefasst wurde..bei anderen macht es Lust doch das Buch selbständig zu lesen. Wirklich toll

    Nils S.

    Einer der besten, bequemsten und sinnvollsten Apps die auf ein Handy gehören. Jeden morgen 15-20 Minuten für die eigene Weiterbildung/Entwicklung oder Wissen.

    Julia P.

    Viele tolle Bücher, auf deren Kernaussagen reduziert- präzise und ansprechend zusammengefasst. Endlich habe ich das Gefühl, Zeit für Bücher zu finden, für die ich sonst keine Zeit habe.

    Leute mochten auch die Zusammenfassungen

    4,7 Sterne
    Durchschnittliche Bewertung im App Store und Play Store
    30 Millionen
    Downloads auf allen Plattformen
    10+ Jahre
    Erfahrung als Impulsgeber für persönliches Wachstum
    Die besten Ideen aus den Top-Sachbüchern

    Hol dir mit Blinkist die besten Erkenntnisse aus mehr als 7.000 Sachbüchern und Podcasts. In 15 Minuten lesen oder anhören!

    Jetzt kostenlos testen

    American Psycho FAQs 

    What is the main message of American Psycho?

    The main message of American Psycho is a critique of consumerism and capitalism.

    How long does it take to read American Psycho?

    The reading time for American Psycho varies depending on the reader's speed, but it typically takes several hours. However, the Blinkist summary can be read in just 15 minutes.

    Is American Psycho a good book? Is it worth reading?

    American Psycho is a challenging and thought-provoking book that offers unique insights into the dark side of human nature.

    Who is the author of American Psycho?

    Bret Easton Ellis is the author of American Psycho.