close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
4 mins

Mastering the Journey: A Complete Guide to Reading the ‘Throne of Glass’ Books in Order

Join us as we navigate the captivating 'Throne of Glass' series by Sarah J. Maas. Discover the transformative journey of Celaena Sardothien, told in order, from start to stunning finish.
by Chris Allmer | May 13 2024
Throne of Glass Books in Order: A Comprehensive Guide on Blinkist

We’re big fans of the ‘Throne of Glass’ series – a thrilling combo of fantasy, romance, and adventure. This pile of exciting books has carved out a special place in the world of fantasy literature, making it a real treat for readers who love vivid tales and characters that stick with you.


Sarah J. Maas is the talented author behind the ‘Throne of Glass’ series. Famous for creating detailed, magical worlds and well-rounded characters and for being the mastermind behind the highly recognized ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ (ACOTAR) saga, Maas has earned her stripes in young adult fiction.

She is also. Her vibrant narrative style and boundless imagination create an irresistible pull, leaving readers hooked from the first page to the last.

What order to read the Throne of Glass series?

Reading the ‘Throne of Glass’ series in order is kind of like building a jigsaw puzzle. Each book is a piece that fits neatly into the overall picture. You see, every book adds to the storyline, throws light on different aspects, and helps characters grow, step by step. 

So, if you skip around or read them out of order, you’re likely to miss out on key background details or end up spoiling plot twists meant to surprise you. Sarah J. Maas crafted a thrilling ride for Celaena Sardothien that changes and grows with every installment.

To truly get the kick out of her struggles, the tough calls she makes, and the way her character evolves, it’s best to follow this adventure the way Maas intended. So, start from the very beginning and strap in for an incredible journey!

All Set For Adventure: Throne of Glass Books in Order


1. Throne of Glass (2012)

Here’s where it all starts. ‘Throne of Glass’ brings us face-to-face with Celaena Sardothien – a charming, brave yet imperfect eighteen-year-old assassin. Stuck working in the salt mines of Endovier as a punishment for her crimes, her only hope for freedom is to win a tough competition and land the role of the King’s Champion.


2. Crown of Midnight (2013)

In ‘Crown of Midnight’, Celaena finds herself stuck between a rock and a hard place. Sworn to the king but discovering dark behind-the-scenes secrets, our heroine must navigate loss, betrayal, and a stirring rebellion.


3. Heir of Fire (2014)

‘Heir of Fire’ offers a change of scenery as Celaena finds herself on foreign soil – Wendlyn. Here, she uncovers her true lineage and begins a journey toward self-discovery.


4. Queen of Shadows (2015)

By ‘Queen of Shadows’, Celaena is all grown up and ready to take on her biggest enemies yet, aiming to reclaim her faltering kingdom. Twists and turns keep her on her toes throughout the book.


5. Empire of Storms (2016)

The tension ramps up in ‘Empire of Storms’ as Celaena fights to prevent a disastrous war – alliances are formed, hearts are broken, and sacrifices are made.


6. Tower of Dawn (2017)

‘Tower of Dawn’ shifts focus to Chaol and his journey to a far-off empire. What he discovers there shakes things up and throws a new light on the impending war.


7. Kingdom of Ash (2018)

‘Kingdom of Ash’ wraps up the series with Celaena – now Aelin – facing her biggest fears and making painful sacrifices to protect those she loves. It’s an unforgettable end to an amazing series.


How many Throne of Glass books will there be?

The ‘Throne of Glass’ series has a total of eight books. The main series includes the seven gripping novels listed above and, in addition to these, there’s also ‘The Assassin’s Blade,’ which although published in 2014, is a prequel to the others.

It’s packed with novellas that give fans insights into the life of Celaena Sardothien before ‘Throne of Glass.’ So all in all, you’ve got eight thrilling books to add to your reading list!

So you’ve polished off the ‘Throne of Glass’ series. What’s next? Well, here at Blinkist, we’ve pulled together a selection of books similar to Throne of Glass we’re sure you’ll love if Sarah J. Maas’ storytelling had you hooked. Take a look – you might just stumble upon your next great adventure!

Start your free 7-day trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print