close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
3 mins

The Ultimate Guide to Stephen King Books in Order: A Journey Through Horror and Suspense

Journey Through Stephen King Books in Order: Navigate the eerie pathways of horror fiction with our comprehensive list, showcasing each thrilling novel in chronological sequence.
by Chris Allmer | May 28 2024

Discover Stephen King Books in Order: A Complete Guide to the Master of Horror's Works

Stephen King, a name synonymous with horror, suspense, and the supernatural, has captivated millions of readers worldwide with his gripping narratives and unforgettable characters. Whether you are a lifelong fan or a newcomer eager to plunge into the depths of his work, navigating the extensive list of Stephen King’s books in order can be a thrilling adventure in itself.


Who is Stephen King?

Before we embark on this literary odyssey, a brief introduction to the man behind the nightmare is in order. Stephen King, born in 1947, in Portland, Maine, has become one of the most prolific authors of our time.

With a career spanning over five decades, King has published more than 60 novels and around 200 short stories, many of which have been adapted into films, television series, and miniseries.

His ability to blend elements of horror, the supernatural, suspense, and psychological drama has not only earned him a dedicated global following, the title of the ‘King of Horror,’ but also numerous awards, including the prestigious Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters by the National Book Foundation.

What order should I read Stephen King books in?

For those ready to step into King’s universe, here’s a chronological list of all Stephen King’s books:

  • ‘Carrie’ (1974)
  • ‘Salem’s Lot’ (1975)
  • ‘The Shining’ and ‘Rage’ (1977)
  • ‘The Stand’ (1978)
  • ‘Night Shift’ (Collections) (1978)
  • ‘The Long Walk’ (1979)
  • ‘The Dead Zone’ (1979)
  • ‘Firestarter’ (1980)
  • ‘Roadwork’ (1981)
  • ‘Cujo’ (1981)
  • ‘The Running Man’ (1982)
  • ‘The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger’ (1982)
  • ‘Different Seasons’ (Collections) (1982)
  • ‘Christine’ (1983)
  • ‘Pet Sematary’ (1983)
  • ‘Cycle of the Werewolf’ (1983)
  • ‘The Talisman’ (Written with Peter Straub) (1984)
  • ‘The Eyes of the Dragon’ (1984)
  • ‘Thinner’ (1984)
  • ‘The Mist’ (1985)
  • ‘The Jaunt’ (1985)
  • ‘It’ (1986)
  • ‘The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three’ (1987)
  • ‘The Tommyknockers’ (1987)
  • ‘Misery’ (1987)
  • ‘The Dark Half’ (1989)
  • ‘Four Past Midnight’ (Collections) (1990)
  • ‘The Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands’ (1991)
  • ‘Needful Things’ (1991)
  • ‘Gerald’s Game’ (1992)
  • ‘Dolores Claiborne’ (1993)
  • ‘Nightmares & Dreamscapes’ (Collections) (1993)
  • ‘Insomnia’ (1994)
  • ‘Rose Madder’ (1995)
  • ‘The Green Mile’ (1996)
  • ‘Desperation’ (1996)
  • ‘The Regulators’ (1996)
  • ‘The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass’ (1997)
  • ‘Bag of Bones’ (1998)
  • ‘Hearts in Atlantis’ (Collections) (1999)
  • ‘The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon’ (1999)
  • ‘Dreamcatcher’ (2001)
  • ‘From a Buick 8’ (2002)
  • ‘The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla’ (2003)
  • ‘Everything’s Eventual: 14 Dark Tales’ (Collections) (2003)
  • ‘The Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah’ (2004)
  • ‘The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower’ (2004)
  • ‘The Colorado Kid’ (2005)
  • ‘Cell’ (2006)
  • ‘Lisey’s Story’ (2006)
  • ‘Blaze’ (2007)
  • ‘Duma Key’ (2004)
  • ‘Just After Sunset’ (Collections) (2008)
  • ‘Under the Dome’ (2009)
  • ‘Full Dark, No Stars’ (Collections) (2010)
  • ’11/22/63′ (2011)
  • ‘The Dark Tower: The Wind Through the Keyhole’ (2012)
  • ‘Joyland’ (2013)
  • ‘Doctor Sleep’ (2013)
  • ‘Mr. Mercedes’ (2014)
  • ‘Revival’ (2014)
  • ‘Finders Keepers’ (2015)
  • ‘The Bazaar of Bad Dreams’ (Collections) (2015)
  • ‘End of Watch’ (2016)
  • ‘Sleeping Beauties’ (Written with Owen King) (2017)
  • ‘The Outsider’ (2018)
  • ‘Elevation’ (2018)
  • ‘The Institute’ (2019)
  • ‘If It Bleeds’ (Collections) (2020)
  • ‘Later’ (2021)
  • ‘Billy Summers’ (2021)
  • ‘Fairy Tale’ (2022)
  • ‘Holly’ (2023)


What is Stephen King’s most popular book?

When it comes to Stephen King’s literary masterpieces,The Shining stands out as his best-selling book of all time. This chilling tale of isolation and supernatural terror has cemented its place in the annals of horror fiction and continues to captivate readers with its haunting atmosphere and unforgettable characters. 

In the ever-evolving landscape of horror fiction, Stephen King stands as a towering figure whose works continue to thrill and terrify readers around the globe. His extensive bibliography, ranging from spine-chilling classics like “The Shining” and “It” to contemporary gems such as “Fairy Tale” and “Holly,” embodies a masterful blend of gripping narratives and complex characters.

Whether you’re a seasoned horror aficionado or new to the genre, King’s novels promise a haunting adventure that deftly explores the darker facets of the human psyche. By delving into his books in chronological order, you’ll experience the evolution of his legendary storytelling prowess and understand why Stephen King remains the undisputed Master of Horror.

Happy reading, and prepare to be captivated by the macabre magic of his writing!

Start your free 7-day trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print