close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
4 mins

Discover the Harry Potter Books in Order and Unleash the Wizard Within You

Feeling enchanted by Harry's magical realm? Join us as we walk through the Harry Potter books in chronological order. From 'Philosopher's Stone' to 'Deathly Hallows', let's rediscover the magic and uncover hidden gems in Hogwarts' mystical chronicles together.
by Chris Allmer | May 2 2024
harry potter books in order

Ever found yourself wrapped up in the mesmerizing world of witchcraft and wizardry, fascinated by a boy with a lightning scar? Yes, we’re talking about the magical realm of Harry Potter, a spellbinding series that has touched hearts across the globe. 

This enchanting story revolves around our young hero, Harry Potter, who embarks on an unpredictable journey, balancing the challenges of being a teenage wizard and battling the darkest wizard of all time, Lord Voldemort.


About J.K. Rowling

The astounding brain behind this iconic series is J.K. Rowling. Her life’s journey rags-to-riches is as riveting as her books. From struggling as a single mother living off welfare to becoming one of the world’s wealthiest authors, her story’s a bit of real-world magic. 

She came up with the idea of Harry Potter on a late, delayed train journey (proving great things come to those who wait!). The initial draft was finished in 1995, and, a few rejections later, and thanks to the interest of the CEO’s young daughter, Bloomsbury published an initial print of 5.650 copies of the Philosopher’s Stone. And the rest, as they say, it’s history. 

All in all, J.K. Rowling is proof that it takes a little magic (and a lot of hard work) to make dreams come true.

Why is it important to read the Harry Potter books in order?

So, why is the order of the Harry Potter books such a big deal, you ask? Let’s break it down. Think of the series as a gigantic puzzle, with each book functioning as a piece. 

The first book forms the border and as you move along the series, piece by piece, you start to see the full picture. While each book has its own mini-adventure (trust us, there’s never a dull moment at Hogwarts), the series as a whole has a complex storyline that needs to be taken in its stride.

Too many secrets, character developments, allegiances, betrayals, there’s a lot going on. Imagine reading the fifth book only to wonder why a certain character isn’t present, not realizing they met a tragic end in the second book. Spoilers? Yes, unavoidably so, in such situations.

That’s why sticking to the order matters. Trust us, you’ll thank us later for the immersive, brilliant journey!

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone 

Meet Harry Potter as he discovers his magical heritage on his 11th birthday and he learns he is the infamous survivor of the dark wizard, Voldemort. Enter Hogwarts School of Witchcraft & Wizardry with Harry and his friends Ron and Hermione and experience a magical academic year.


2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets 

Witness Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fraught with danger as he discovers a perilous secret about the school. 


3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 

Join Harry as he finds out about Sirius Black, a notorious prisoner, and uncovers shocking truths about his parents’ past, turning his perception upside down.


4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 

See Harry tossed into an unrelenting sequence of events when he is unexpectedly selected to compete in the dangerous Triwizard Tournament. As he maneuvers through daunting tasks, he uncovers a sinister trail leading to an unthinkable conclusion: The return of Lord Voldemort.


5. Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix 

The Wizarding world refuses to believe in Voldemort’s resurrection. Amidst the brewing rebellion, we accompany Harry as he attends secret meetings, masters advanced magic, and confronts the increasing danger threatening Hogwarts.


6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince 

Discover along with Harry, Voldemort’s darkest secrets. As he deepens his knowledge of the dark wizard’s past alongside Dumbledore, we feel the tangible dread escalating and buckle up for the inevitable showdown.


7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows 

Stand alongside Harry in his ultimate confrontation to destroy Voldemort’s Horcruxes. Will good prevail over evil? The fate of the wizarding world hangs in balance.

With seven spellbinding books, the Harry Potter series offers thrilling adventures at every turn. If you’ve already been enticed by these tales of magic, why not explore more? Discover 20 books you will love if you liked Harry Potter and step into new worlds waiting to be discovered.

And guess what? You’re invited to embark on a captivating literary journey with us. Join Blinkist now for a 7-day free trial and unlock a treasure trove of riveting reads!

Start your free 7-day trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print