close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
4 mins

Journey Through Arrakis: The Ultimate Guide to Dune Books in Order

Your definitive guide to reading Dune books in order. Delve into Frank Herbert's sci-fi masterpiece, including prequels, sequels, and novellas by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. Start your Dune journey today with Blinkist's insightful summaries and discover the intricate layers of the Dune saga.
by Chris Allmer | Jun 10 2024
Discover the Ultimate Guide to Reading Dune Books in Order: The Complete Dune Universe

The Dune Saga is an epic science fiction series that has captured the imaginations of readers for over half a century. Frank Herbert’s universe is vast and filled with political intrigue, environmental themes, and the timeless struggle for power.

At its core, the saga delves into the complexities of human nature and the intricate balance between ecological stewardship and the pursuit of control. With its richly detailed characters and multifaceted plotlines, the series not only entertains but also prompts thoughtful reflections on the real-world issues it metaphorically addresses.

From the desert planet of Arrakis to the far reaches of the galaxy, the Dune Saga remains a monumental work in the tapestry of science fiction literature.

Why the World Loves Dune

The global fascination with Dune was reignited with the release of the highly anticipated movie adaptation directed by Denis Villeneuve and starred Timothée Chalamet, Rebecca Ferguson or Zendaya among many others.

The film brought new life to Herbert’s work, introducing it to a new generation of fans and rekindling the passion of longtime enthusiasts.

About Frank Herbert

Frank Herbert was a visionary writer who created one of the most complex and detailed science fiction universes in literature. Born in 1920, Herbert worked as a journalist before dedicating himself to writing full-time.

His work on Dune, which began in the 1960s, left a significant mark on the genre, blending deep philosophical questions with a narrative that is both engaging and thought-provoking.

Original Dune Series

The original six book series of the Dune Saga lay down the foundation of this epic science fiction universe. Each of these masterpieces intricately weaves together the themes of power, survival, and human nature, making them indispensable reads for any fan of science fiction.

1. Dune

2. Dune Messiah

3. Children of Dune

4. God Emperor of Dune

5. Heretics of Dune

6. Chapterhouse; Dune


The Complete Guide of Dune Books in Order

For those who are captivated by the intricate world of Dune and wish to delve deeper into its vast narrative, Frank Herbert’s original six books are just the beginning. The expanded universe includes a rich tapestry of prequels, sequels, and short stories that further explore the history and future of Arrakis and its inhabitants.

Co-authored by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson, these additional works provide crucial backstory and context to the already complex saga. Below, you will find a curated list that encompasses these expansions, organized conveniently to guide your reading journey:

  1. “Hunting Harkonnens” (Included in Tales of Dune)
  2. The Butlerian Jihad
  3. “Whipping Mek” (Included in Tales of Dune)
  4. The Machine Crusade
  5. “The Faces of a Martyr” (Included in Tales of Dune)
  6. The Battle of Corrin
  7. Sisterhood of Dune
  8. Mentats of Dune
  9. “Red Plague” (Included in Tales of Dune)
  10. Navigators of Dune
  11. “Imperial Court” (Included in Sands of Dune)
  12. “Edge of a Crysknife” (Included in Sands of Dune)
  13. House Atreides
  14. House Harkonnen
  15. “Blood and Water” (standalone excerpt from House Harkonnen)
  16. House Corrino
  17. “Fremen Justice” (Also published as “Nighttime Shadows of Open Sand,” standalone excerpt from House
  18. “Wedding Silk” (Included in Tales of Dune)
  19. Princess of Dune
  20. The Duke of Caladan
  21. The Lady of Caladan
  22. The Heir of Caladan
  23. Dune
  24. “A Whisper of Caladan Seas” (takes place during events of Dune; Included in Tales of Dune)
  25. “Blood of the Sardukar” (takes place during events of Dune; (Included in Sands of Dune)
  26. “The Waters of Kanly” (takes place during events of Dune; (Included in Sands of Dune)
  27. Paul of Dune
  28. Dune Messiah
  29. The Winds of Dune
  30. Children of Dune
  31. God-Emperor of Dune
  32. Heretics of Dune
  33. Chapterhouse; Dune
  34. “Sea Child” (takes place during events of Chapterhouse; Dune; Included in Tales of Dune)
  35. Hunters of Dune
  36. “Treasure in the Sand” (takes place immediately before Sandworms of Dune; Included in Tales of Dune)
  37. Sandworms of Dune


Should I Read Dune in Chronological Order?

Absolutely, reading the Dune Saga in chronological order starting with the main novels is highly recommended for anyone looking to immerse themselves fully in the intricate world that Frank Herbert meticulously crafted. Starting with “Dune” and progressing through “Dune Messiah,” “Children of Dune,” “God Emperor of Dune,” “Heretics of Dune,” and finally “Chapterhouse: Dune” provides a seamless narrative experience that allows readers to follow the evolution of characters, plotlines, and themes in the most cohesive manner.

This order faithfully reflects Herbert’s original vision and enables a deeper understanding of the complex interplay between the natural environment, political power, and human nature that defines the saga. While prequels and sequels offer additional layers of depth and context, the core six books are best enjoyed when read in the sequence in which they were published.

Discover More with Blinkist

If you’re fascinated by the complex world of Dune and want to explore more about Frank Herbert’s masterpiece, check out Blinkist’s comprehensive summaries and insights. 

Whether you’re curious about the mysteries of the cosmos or the history of human space travel, our curated selection of books about Space offers concise and insightful summaries of the best reads. Explore titles like “The God Equation” by Michio Kaku, “Extraterrestrial” by Frank Close, and “Cosmos” by Carl Sagan.

Start your free Blinkist trial today and journey through the stars, one book at a time!

Our app distills the key ideas from each book, making it easy to grasp the essential themes and concepts in just 15 minutes.

Start your free Blinkist trial today and immerse yourself in the world of Dune!

Start your free 7-day trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print