close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
8 mins

20 books like “Where the Crawdads Sing” to immerse yourself in the wild

Your Custom Guide to Books with the Charm and Mystery of Where the Crawdads Sing
by The Blinkist Team | Feb 1 2024

books-similar-to-Where-the-Crawdads-Sing

The mesmerizing flare of  Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens has undoubtedly struck chords with many readers. With a heart-rendering story and unforgettable characters cast against a richly woven background of the North Carolina marshland, it’s a gripping tale of resilience and nature’s allure. If you loved getting lost in this enchanting world, and are finding the exit hard to take – fret not. We’ve put together the most riveting books like “Where the Crawdads Sing” to feed your cravings for mysteries wrapped in the embracing arms of Mother Nature.

The 20 best books to read after ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’

 

1. “Wild Swans” by Jung Chang.

Wild-Swans-book-banner

The struggles and joys of three generations of women in this book reflect the resilience and spirit of Kya in Crawdads.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Shares themes of female strength and resilience.
  • Provides a deep understanding of the human spirit.
  • Captivating portrayal of enduring hardship.

 

2. “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee.

To-Kill-a-Mockingbird-Blinkist

If you admired Kya’s fight against social prejudices, you’d appreciate Scout Finch’s observant and wise perspective in this classic.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Contains themes of prejudice and societal norms.
  • Features a young, female protagonist.
  • Offers a deep exploration of morality.

 

3. “The Signature of All Things” by Elizabeth Gilbert.

The-Signature-of-All-Things-Amazon

A deep exploration of science and love against nature’s rich tapestry makes this book a perfect follow-up for Crawdads lovers.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Set against a rich tapestry of nature.
  • Features a strong, independent female lead.
  • Beautifully intertwines love and science.

Blinkist-Magazine-Romance-Books
Looking for more Romance books? Explore our curated list of best romance titles

4. “Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine” by Gail Honeyman.

Eleanor-Oliphant-is-Completely-Fine-Blinkist

The whimsical Eleanor’s journey from loneliness to connection will ring true for readers drawn to Kya’s isolated lifestyle.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Features a unique, isolated protagonist.
  • Hinges on themes of loneliness and connection.
  • A personal journey of self-discovery.

 

5. “White Oleander” by Janet Fitch. 

White-Oleander-Amazon

This compelling novel about a young girl’s survival and self-discovery parallels Crawdads in its exploration of resilience.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Focuses on survival and resilience.
  • Explores the courage of a young girl.
  • Beautifully portrays mother-daughter dynamics.

 

6. “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak.

The-Book-Thief-Blinkist

If Kya’s self-taught literacy journey impressed you, the young Liesel’s love for books in the face of World War II and death will touch you deeply.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Embodies the enduring spirit of survival.
  • Showcases a love for books and literacy.
  • Situates a young girl as the protagonist.

 

7. “Lab Girl” by Hope Jahren.

Lab-Girl-Blinkist

This memoir mirrors the love for the natural world in Crawdads, beautifully blending science, nature, and the journey of womanhood.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Captures the affection for the natural world.
  • Harmonizes the themes of science and womanhood.
  • Beautifully written, like Crawdads.

 

8. “The Light Between Oceans” by M.L. Stedman.

The-Light-Between-Oceans-Blinkist

A heartrending tale of love and moral dilemmas set in the isolation of a lighthouse — the perfect book if you enjoyed the solace of nature in Crawdads.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Examines the fine line of morality.
  • Set against the backdrop of raw nature.
  • Portrays love and loss intensively.

 

9. “Before We Were Strangers” by Renée Carlino. 

Before-We-Were-Strangers-Amazon

Just like Crawdads, this novel is a beautiful examination of love, loss and the power of memories.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Showcases enduring love.
  • Marries memories and loss.
  • Haunting and moving storyline.

 

10. “Olive Kitteridge” by Elizabeth Strout.

Olive-Kitteridge-Blinkist

If you loved the nuanced characterization in Crawdads, you’ll love how Strout explores the quiet complexities of life in a small town.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Unravels the nuances of small-town life.
  • Explores complex character relationships.
  • Navigates the trials and tribulations of life.

 

11. “Life of Pi” by Yann Martel. 

Life-of-Pi-Blinkist

Enjoy the exploration of survival, faith, and the human spirit against the backdrop of isolation, much like Kya’s journey in Crawdads.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Centers on themes of survival and faith.
  • Immerse readers into the protagonist’s isolated world.
  • A profound exploration of the human spirit.

 

12. “The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion.

The-Rosie-Project-Blinkist

For those touched by the social dynamics in Crawdads, the awkwardly charming Don Tillman’s struggles with societal norms may be appealing.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Deals with the complexities of societal norms.
  • Provides a truly unique, endearing protagonist.
  • Stresses the importance of human connection.

 

13. “The Snow Child” by Eowyn Ivey.

The-Snow-Child-Blinkist

This magical tale’s depiction of resilience in the Alaskan wilderness mirrors Kya’s survival in the marshlands.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Set against a backdrop of harsh nature.
  • Weaves in elements of magic and the whimsical.
  • Highlights the enduring human spirit.

 

14. “Room” by Emma Donoghue.

Room-Blinkist

Just as Kya experiences the outside world for the first time, Room explores the intensities of experiencing an expanded world.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Provides insight into the confines of isolation.
  • Centers on the profound bond between mother and child.
  • Highlights the courage and resiliency to survive.

 

15. “The Round House” by Louise Erdrich.

The-Round-House-Blinkist

This coming-of-age tale navigates the intersection of personal and political, much like Crawdads, embedded in native culture instead of marshlands.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • A coming-of-age tale of a young, isolated protagonist.
  • Explores personal and political battles.
  • Nuanced character relationships and dialogues.

 

16. “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein.

The-Art-of-Racing-in-the-Rain-Blinkist

If it was Crawdads’ tender human portrayal that moved you, you’d cherish the heartwarming story expressed through a canine’s perspective.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Taps into the depth of human emotion.
  • Puts the focus on relationships and connections.
  • Explores life’s hardships and joys.

 

17. “State of Wonder” by Ann Patchett.

State-of-Wonder-Amazon

Just like Crawdads, this book tells a story of scientific exploration against an atmospheric, dense wilderness backdrop.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Delves into themes of science and the natural world.
  • Unfolds a story of exploration and self-discovery.
  • Features a captivating, atmospheric setting.

 

18. “March” by Geraldine Brooks.

March-Amazon

This book dives into the complexities of character relationships, merging personal and societal battles, much like in Crawdads.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  •  Merges personal battles with broader societal issues.
  •  Gives a nuanced picture of the devastating effects of war.
  •  Showcases the strength of individuals in the face of hardships.

 

19. “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini.

A-Thousand-Splendid-Suns-Blinkist

For those who appreciated the depth of female strength in Crawdads, this evocative portrayal of women’s enduring spirit in the face of adversity will hold appeal.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Explores the enduring spirit of women amid adversity.
  • Paints a vivid picture of a strife-torn society.
  • The narrative is rich with emotional depth.

 

20. “The Color Purple” by Alice Walker.

The-Color-Purple-Blinkist

If the exploration of bigotry, love, and resilience in Crawdads struck you, you’ll find the poignant character journey in this novel equally compelling.

Elements in common with Where the Crawdads Sing:

  • Explores themes of prejudice and resilience.
  • Features strong, memorable female characters.
  • Powerful exploration of self-expression and self-worth.

 

So, there you have it – your expansive reading map to books likeWhere the Crawdads Sing. Dive in, extract their sweetness, and let the evocative power of words transport you back into the charm of the wild. Happy reading!

Blinkist-7-day-trial-banner

Start your 7-day free trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print