close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
6 mins

20 Captivating Books Like ‘Ready Player One’ for an Epic Adventure”

Unfold Adventures in Intriguing Dystopian Worlds with these Books Similar to Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
by The Blinkist Team | Apr 18 2024

Journey through Dystopian Worlds with Books Like

“Ready Player One”, by Ernest Cline, is a futuristic, action-packed adventure for any lover of escapism and virtual reality. This dystopian novel, replete with 80’s pop culture references, paints a picture of a near-future world where virtual reality is the prime source of entertainment.

It explores themes of power, greed, friendship, and accomplishment in a narrative filled with twists, turns, and high stakes. In light of its fascinating storyline, expressive world-building, and a love for pop culture, book lovers might crave other novels encompassing similar themes and structures.

If you’re hunting for books like “Ready Player One”, you’re on the right page!
 

The Adventure Awaits with these 20 Books Like “Ready Player One”

 

1. “Snow Crash” by Neal Stephenson.

Immersive virtual reality, a hacker hero, and a world run by corporations. Stephenson’s novel is a gripping read for any tech enthusiast.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • A dystopian future where virtual reality is key.
  • Characters battling a powerful corporation.
  • Detailed world-building with sci-fi elements.

 

2. “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card.

This sci-fi classic shares the concept of video games with real-life stakes and consequences, drawing parallels with Ready Player One’s structure.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Video games with high stakes.
  • A youthful protagonist dealing with adult-level problems.
  • The theme of friendship and teamwork.

 

3. “Neuromancer” by William Gibson.

A futuristic world where characters traverse through physical and cyberspace, akin to the OASIS in “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • A high-tech, dystopian future.
  • Fast-paced, thrilling plot.
  • Central use of cyberspace and Virtual Reality.

 

4. “Armada” by Ernest Cline.

Cline’s second novel, also rich with pop-culture references and video game culture, delivers a story that “Ready Player One” fans will appreciate.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Video game theme.
  • Otherworldly adventures.
  • A protagonist shaped by pop culture. 

 

5. “The Maze Runner” by James Dashner.

Just like in ‘Ready Player One’, the protagonist must navigate through a dangerous, puzzle-like environment to survive.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Deadly competition with high stakes.
  • The theme of survival.
  • Unveiling shocking secrets about one’s world.

 

6. “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins.

A dystopian world with life-or-death competitions makes Collins’ work a compelling read for “Ready Player One” fans.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • A deadly game with high stakes.
  • Dystopian setting.
  • Battle against oppressive forces.

 

7. “The Eye of Minds” by James Dashner.

A sci-fi thriller set in the world of virtual reality gaming, similar to the concept of OASIS in “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Virtual reality and gaming elements.
  • Clever, twist-filled plot.
  • An adventure-packed and tech-based storyline.

 

8. “Warcross” by Marie Lu.

With its focus on a futuristic video game tournament, Lu’s Warcross shares major themes with “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Central theme of a large-scale game.
  • High-tech, near-future setting.
  • Characters pitted against powerful evil companies.

 

9. “Divergent” by Veronica Roth.

A dystopian, post-apocalyptic Chicago with societal divisions offers a riveting adventure similar to “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Youth overcoming societal limitations.
  • Dystopian environment.
  • Themes of courage and rebellion.

 

10. “Legend” by Marie Lu.

A dystopian world, brave young characters, and a government mystery correlate with the thematic landscape of “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Dystopian setting.
  • Themes of rebellion and resilience.
  • A fast-paced, gripping narrative.

 

11. “Station Eleven” by Emily St. John Mandel.

Surviving in a post-apocalyptic world, the characters’ struggle for survival will resonate with “Ready Player One” fans.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Post-apocalyptic setting.
  • Survival and resilience amid despair.
  • Journeys across different terrains and realities.

 

12. “The Selection” by Kiera Cass.

The theme of a competition to change one’s destiny correlates with the quest theme of “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Competition with high stakes.
  • Struggle between classes of society.
  • Asserting individuality in a conformist society.

 

13. “The Giver” by Lois Lowry.

This dystopian novel, where an all-controlling government dictates citizens’ lives, shares thematic elements with “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • A society controlled by an overarching power.
  • Quest for individuality and freedom.
  • Unfolding secrets about the society.

 

14. “Cryptonomicon” by Neal Stephenson.

Stephenson’s tech-savvy, layered storyline involving coding and digital currency resonates with the tech elements in “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Tech-savvy, complex narrative.
  • Quest involving cerebral challenges.
  • Exploration of future tech possibilities.

 

15. “Feed” by M.T. Anderson.

Exploring the dangers of tech-dependence in a futuristic society resonates with themes in “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”: 

  • Overreliance on technology.
  • Futuristic, tech-interconnected society.
  • The struggle for authenticity in a digital world.

 

16. “Reamde” by Neal Stephenson.

Thrilling, tech-filled adventures and a gamer protagonist draws parallels with “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Epic, tech-driven adventure.
  • High stakes virtual game.
  • Detailed futuristic world-building.

 

17. “Invictus” by Ryan Graudin.

Time-traveling thieves and unpredictable adventures create a landscape similar to the thrill present in “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • High-stakes adventure in unique landscapes.
  • Group of tight-knit friends tackling problems.
  • Unpredictable twists and turns.

 

18. “The Roar” by Emma Clayton.

A futuristic, digital world with brave young protagonists shares thematic similarities with “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Futuristic, dystopian setting.
  • Adventure-filled storyline.
  • Youth combatting power abuses.

 

19. “Matched” by Ally Condie.

In a world where society decides everything about your life, the struggle for freedom and choice resonates with “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Society controlled by an overarching power.
  • Quest for individuality and freedom.
  • Unraveling society’s secrets.

 

20. “Little Brother” by Cory Doctorow.

Teenagers fighting against surveillance society and using technology as their weapon draw parallels with “Ready Player One”.

Elements in common with “Ready Player One”:

  • Rebellion against oppressive powers.
  • Significant use of technology.
  • Young protagonists showcasing bravery and ingenuity.

In conclusion, if “Ready Player One” captivated you with its blend of futuristic technology, pop culture reverence, and thrilling adventure, you’ll love diving into these similar novels. Each of these books shares elements that made “Ready Player One” such a riveting read, from engaging plots and thought-provoking societal commentary to exploration of human resilience in tech-dominant futures.

So, get ready to immerse yourself in another exhilarating reading adventure. Happy reading!

Blinkist-7-day-trial-banner

Start your free 7-day trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print