close Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn
6 mins

20 Sizzling Reads: Books Similar to “50 Shades of Grey”

Dive Into a World of Passion with Books Like 50 Shades of Grey
by The Blinkist Team | Feb 27 2024

20 Must-Read Books Like 50 Shades of Grey | Explore Now

“50 Shades of Grey” by E.L. James was a worldwide phenomenon thanks to its captivating story that intertwined themes of desire, power dynamics, and unconventional exploration. It left many readers searching for similar adrenaline-pumping romance novels.

If you’re one of those people who yearns for more books with a blend of intense emotional connections and steamy scenes, you’re in luck! Here’s a thoughtfully curated list of 20 books that will satisfy your craving for stories similar to “50 Shades of Grey.”

The 20 best books to read after “50 Shades of Grey” by E.L. James

 

1. “Bared to You” by Sylvia Day

This novel delves into the complicated yet passionate relationship between Eva and Gideon, both haunted by their pasts.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Explores intense emotional and physical connections.
  • Characters with complex pasts and vulnerabilities.
  • Rich narrative on healing through love.

 

2. “This Man” by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Follow the all-consuming romance between interior designer Ava and the mysterious Jesse Ward.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Dominant male lead with secrets.
  • Passionate, consuming love story.
  • A whirlwind of emotions and revelations.

 

3. “The Crossfire Series” by Sylvia Day

Another masterpiece by Sylvia Day, focusing on the resilient love between Gideon Cross and Eva Tramell.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Strong, enigmatic billionaire protagonist.
  • Themes of healing and overcoming trauma.
  • Steamy scenes that complement the deep emotional storyline.

Blinkist-Magazine-Romance-Books

 

4. “The Submissive” by Tara Sue Me

Explores the dynamics between librarian Abby and businessman Nathaniel, diving into a world of explicit fantasies.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • BDSM as a central theme.
  • A journey of self-discovery and personal growth.
  • The evolution of a contract-based relationship into emotional depth.

Looking for more books about sex? Explore our curated list of best sex titles 

5. “Rush” by Maya Banks

Tells the story of Mia and Gabe, delving into themes of forbidden desire and the complexity of mixing business with pleasure.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • A powerful, older man and a younger woman dynamic.
  • Erotic scenes that push boundaries.
  • Issues of control, trust, and surrender.

 

6. “Beautiful Disaster” by Jamie McGuire

A tale of attraction between college student Abby and bad-boy Travis, filled with challenges and intensity.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Intense, all-consuming relationship.
  • Characters fighting their own demons.
  • A push-and-pull dynamic that keeps you on edge.

 

7. “On Dublin Street” by Samantha Young

Jocelyn’s attempt to start anew in Scotland leads her to Braden, sparking an undeniable attraction.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Emotional baggage that complicates relationships.
  • Steamy romance with depth.
  • The transformative power of love.

 

8. “Wallbanger” by Alice Clayton

A mix of humor and heat, this story of Caroline and her noisy next-door neighbor Simon turns into an exploration of desire.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Sexual tension and comedic relief.
  • Evolution from annoyance to deep affection.
  • Creative exploration of desires and fantasies.

 

9. “The Siren” by Tiffany Reisz

Nora’s life as a famous erotica author and dominatrix is filled with complexity, especially with Søren, her lover, and Wesley, her roommate.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • A sophisticated dive into BDSM culture.
  • Complex character relationships.
  • A blend of forbidden desires and emotional challenges.

 

10. “Gabriel’s Inferno” by Sylvain Reynard

The forbidden love story between Professor Gabriel Emerson and his student Julia Mitchell is both provocative and profound.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Forbidden romance with a power dynamic.
  • Deeply flawed and emotionally wounded characters.
  • Themes of redemption and unconditional love.

 

11. “In Flight” by R.K. Lilley

Flight attendant Bianca finds herself drawn to billionaire hotel owner James, embarking on a passionate romance.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Billionaire male lead with a penchant for control.
  • Deep-seated emotional issues explored through the relationship.
  • Erotic encounters that are central to the character’s development.

https://www.blinkist.com/en/content/topics/sex-en

 

12. “Fixed on You” by Laurelin Paige

Alayna’s attraction to Hudson, a known playboy, becomes a thrilling game of heart vs. mind.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • The obsessive nature of attraction.
  • The healing power of love.
  • Complex characters with secretive pasts.

 

13. “Release Me” by J. Kenner

Nikki’s agreement to be the model for Damien Stark’s new venture sparks an intense and complicated relationship.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • A proposition that sparks an intense relationship.
  • Characters with dark pasts.
  • A blend of steamy encounter and emotional depth.

 

14. “Knight” by Kristen Ashley

Anya’s life takes a turn when she meets Knight, leading her into a world she never expected.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Alpha male protagonist.
  • A gritty, intense love story.
  • Themes of protection, dominance, and submission.

 

15. “Claim Me” by J. Kenner

The continuation of Nikki and Damien’s story, delving deeper into their complex relationship.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Development of trust and deeper emotional connection.
  • Overcoming trauma together.
  • Intense and erotic narrative.

 

16. “Reflected in You” by Sylvia Day

The ongoing saga of Gideon and Eva, revealing more challenges and layers to their relationship.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • A psychologically intense romance.
  • Deep exploration of the characters’ past.
  • The struggle for control and intimacy.

 

17. “Entwined with You” by Sylvia Day

Another chapter in Gideon and Eva’s relationship, showcasing the resilience of their bond.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • Continued exploration of a complex relationship.
  • Overcoming external threats and inner demons.
  • Passionate and emotional storyline.

 

18. “Captivated by You” by Sylvia Day

Further developments in Gideon and Eva’s tumultuous relationship emphasize growth and healing.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • The dynamics of a power exchange relationship.
  • Healing through love and understanding.
  • The intensity of a deep, passionate connection.

 

19. “Mastered” by Maya Banks

Evangeline’s adventure into a world she’s never known with a man who demands everything from her.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • A powerful, commanding male lead.
  • Themes of submission and dominance.
  • The exploration of boundaries, trust, and love.

 

20. “Mile High” by R.K. Lilley

The continuation of Bianca and James’s story, facing new challenges and deepening their bond.

Elements in common with 50 Shades of Grey:

  • The luxury and glamour of the billionaire lifestyle.
  • Deepening trust and emotional connection.
  • Exploration of desires and secrets.

We believe that our carefully curated list of 20 books will inspire you to explore the captivating themes found in “50 Shades of Grey” by E.L. James. Each book on our list offers a unique blend of intense passion and emotional depth that is sure to leave you feeling moved and inspired.

Whether you are drawn to the dynamic of power, the thrill of forbidden love, or the healing power of a deep emotional connection, we are confident that you will find something to love on our list. So, go ahead and immerse yourself in these enthralling stories, and let them transport you to worlds where love, desire, and transformation reign supreme.

We wish you a happy and fulfilling reading experience!

Blinkist-7-day-trial-banner

Start your free 7-day trial

Facebook Twitter Tumblr Instagram LinkedIn Flickr Email Print